Jun 30, 2009

Surprise!

Well Joaquin called last night, told me he was out for a walk. Alarmed
because his neighborhood isn't exactly ideal for evening walks, I had
started to exclaim in response. He just told me to come downstairs and
open the door. That made me all kinds of happy. I was really glad to
see him & the good night's sleep I was going to get.

We didn't do much today on account of it being too humid to move
around. My $55 tower fan/air purifier/ionizer is earning its keep. I
did make dinner this evening with whatever we had lying around the
house. The baked chicken was good, nothing like random spices, s&p and
evoo in 375• oven for an hour for dinner. Simple and no fuss
mac&cheese and a can of corn for sides. The squash was pretty bland
but Giant suggested using nutmeg, cinnamon and brown sugar on it next
time. I wanted to venture out & get ice cream but no one wanted to
come with so I scratched that idea. Did nothing else but digest dinner
& watch L&O. Joaquin also noticed that my arms are getting some
definition. Maybe another month I can increase the weights. Really
really happy he's here. Also happy that I've fed family with enough
leftovers for lunch tomorrow for under $10 total. Boo-yah!

Stay cool and hopefully some rain. I don't care that it's been raining
quite alot in the past few weeks! And some food for thought. What
happened to all the news regarding swine flu?! And what about the
Iranian election?!

"just be yourself... unless you suck."
Sent from my iPhone.

Jun 25, 2009

Everything in 3s

Earlier today reports has come in that Farrah Fawcett had passed away
after a long battle with cancer. She had actually done a TV special
regarding her fight which aired no more than 3-4 weeks ago. Farrah had
spurred on many fantasies from that infamous picture with the
feathered hair.

Then at the end of the work day, scattered reports came in that
Michael Jackson was rushed to the hospital, 911 called & that he was
not breathing. He was revived & taken to UCLA Univ Hospital. A few
minutes later more reports that he was in a coma. But generally, most
of the news sites weren't sure. Then 2 minutes later, the TV news were
reporting that MJ had passed away. To say it's shocking news is an
understatement. We all remember how scary Thriller was when we were
little kids. And I sure as hell stayed up late to watch the premiere
of the Scream video on MTV. Admittedly there is a part of me that says
with life comes death and he's one less child molester that walks this
earth.

Regardless, rest in peace. And people should really start making their
bucket lists. Bucket list = things to do before you kick the bucket.
Amy & I were talking about it not more than 2 hours before MJ's death
hit the news.

Better make best use of our time here. Does that make sense?

"just be yourself... unless you suck."
Sent from my iPhone.

Jun 23, 2009

Drunk dialing?

So around 4am, I was reaching for my phone half asleep because it was
ringing. I looked through one eye and put it back under the pillow
sparing half a thought to figure out which country that was calling
from. An hour later, I get another one this time from Orange County,
CA. I didn't realize at the time the out of country number was India &
the same number had called 2x. These are the times I'm glad I don't
have voicemail because it is so much simpler. Of course, I'm going to
need to set it up eventually....

Kuya Uge off, Dawn worked for 4 hours, Tay's jaw is still bothering
him & had Neni phoned in a prescription for him at Walgreen's, and Tim
had an x-ray done today as per her doc visit this past Saturday. She
had called in sick for 3 days last week. Hopefully I remember to check
up on her x-ray. Joaquin really dislikes living there and a part of me
wants to call myself a failure for not holding up my half of having a
working part of a relationship. Like living together because it's just
not enough.

And the LOL moment of the day, hkn actually left me a wall post
regarding a check they will reissue because apparently I had one left
over there and I had never cashed it?! Really? Wow, I suppose it's
really difficult in this day and age to let someone know they have a
check still uncashed. It's funny because the farce of a termination
letter they express sent me after I asked WTF stated that they had no
way to reach me when I supposedly went MIA. Fucking laughable and this
is the one instance where I will say that I'm glad life is finite
because imagine of assholes lived forever. Anyhoo, no way to reach me
despite 2 known personal email addresses and the almighty facebook
[which funnily enough continue to get wall posts regarding happy
holidays & have a great birthday]. Whatever, I can go on some Sunday.

On more important news, Amy G & I were talking about lack of contact
from our other friends and maybe we are only acutely aware of it since
we have ridiculous amounts of free time. And it's true, these things
have their cycles and when we both pick up with our friends again
it'll be like old times. Coincidentally, the day I was lamenting about
missing old friends, one of the sisters from other misters called and
one texted. Maybe they were using the Force! lol

Post 3.0 update: I swear my phone is working slower and I swear that
even during his liver transplant Steve Jobs was dreaming of ways to
discretely screw over the masses forcing us to spend dough on the
newer, faster iPhone 3Gs. Also my power indicator doesn't seem to
display how much I have left. Like now, it just died even though last
I looked 4 min ago I had 3/4 left. Fuuuck. And today's minor mindfuck,
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cWMlCMtogVw&NR=1 . Of course Sony has
an answer for that.

Still haven't gotten a haircut, it's just obnoxious now. My ears itch
like the dickens but it could be these earphones. And...

RIP Ed McMahon. I guess you're hi-o in Heaven.

"just be yourself... unless you suck."

Jun 22, 2009

Heinous

I've mentioned before that I love saying that word.

So, my little world news... I've given Twitter another chance. Not
sure if that was a bright idea as it is like facebook, frighteningly
addictive. The novelty of it should wear off soon enough. My account
pretty much sat tweetless for a year. Did some spring cleaning on
Junior. Freed up almost 800mb off the harddrive so that was
productive. Just need to figure out which media files are going to go
into the external drive. Hopefully I can at least get past 10gb free.

Internal debate: should I get the Sony DSC H20?! If I cash in my
points from the bank, use Dawn's discount & trade with someone the $50
Macy's gift card for moolah I could get the camera for $100. I rally
should make hat call to Reservation Rewards; I think they award Visa
gift cards for points you've collected. I may have another $50 in
there. There's also that spare change I've been throwing into a small
container. We will see. Soon hopefully because we're going to see No
Doubt again but this time we're in the crappy section.

I'll mention how wrong the majority of people are in this country. The
separation of Jon & Kate Gosselin are a bigger deal than that farce of
a Democratic vote in Iran and all the ensuing deaths after it. My only
source of comfort is humans will eventually become extinct. Or maybe
we'll get our priorities straight.

Hope those kids don't hate each other when they're all grown up.
Personally I'd rather be financially struggling and juggling and be
with my entire family than live in a 14 room house sitting on 23 acres
pulling in about $3mil annually. But that's just me, I'm easy to
please. Family, food, shelter, and a good cellphone! LoL

Lastly I got really pissed at my own boobs the other day.


"just be yourself... unless you suck."
Sent from my iPhone.

Jun 21, 2009

I'm moving to Seattle

No I'm kidding! But it's another Saturday of nothing but overcast &
rain rain rain. AGav said the reason Starbucks was created in Seattle
was so they could keep their collective asses awake or something to
that effect. But geez if it isn't hard enough to work out, to have it
rain is downright insidious.

However I did do light weights today and 8 min on the stepper; slowly
but surely. I think I'm seeing some definition on my arms. I washed
some dishes, played some online games, and washed some dishes. Made a
salad with avocados & peaches with French mix ready made salad. Had a
relatively good dinner with Carribbean lime chicken and the salad.
Although I did have a 2 scoop banana split with chocolate topping.

Twitter is evil btw. I spent a good chunk of time adding to my follow
list & reading others of interest. Wil Wheaton is moderately funny.
Alexis & Alyson Denisof had a kid, never knew.

Heard on SVU, quit kicking yourself. Olivia answers easy to say, hard
to do. The Marine replies takes practice. I forget what I'm capable
of, what I want to do to help people and that we're all on borrowed
time.

"just be yourself... unless you suck."
Sent from my iPhone.

Jun 19, 2009

iPhone 3.0 update

Well it's here, the long awaited software update to the iPhone. I'd be
lying if I said I hadn't been excited. The update was available as of
yesterday from Apple's website, late in the day for me. Also took a
handful of tries before it actually took the upgrade. The first error
stating something about their servers... And their were a few tweets
and forum shouts about getting bricked so... Let's all keep in mind
that AT&T hates it's customers. Read on.

One of the new features is. Being able to type texts & emails in
landscape mode. Honestly I'm kind of used to the portrait typing, my
fingers aren't overextending. So 50/50 on that. Really the only thing
that bugs me about typing is this DLO cover I've selected to protect
my phone. The new "spotlight search" is pretty neat as it looks for
the key words in search field across your whole phone. Another new
feature is the voice memos so you can do a bit of recording onto your
phone. If I could just point out that my Nokia candy bar phone did
that already, um 5 years ago... Regardless you all can get rid of that
Jott app. And of course being able to copy/cut/paste while your
composing text is pretty rad. AND now you can delete individual text
messages without off-ing the whole convo thread! I have really missed
being able to do that.

There's a slew of other features which I'm not sure I'm all that
interested in. Improved stock stuff, calender, notes sync, stereo
Bluetooth, improved parental controls, Safari with autofill and you
can buy/download movies, shows and audiobooks onto your iPhone. Cha-
ching Steve-o. No video on this update, just on the new handset but
since I never used that feature even on my old phones I'm not too hung
up on it.

Now for the 2 annoyances. Tethering is a no go so far despite the
codes to support it. Undoubtedly AT&T is looking for some price
gouging. To be fair I wasn't really going to be using that option but
it had to be given a voice y'know? ALSO mms is where?!?! According to
press release it will available later this summer. Wtb... I'll give it
a half dart for now. I'd love to send/receive pictures again without
having to resort to facebook mobile uploading. Not everyone has a
smartphone afterall. And seriously mms is pretty bloody basic!

If you are on AT&T and you are just in time for your contract renewal
then by all means, get the iPhone 3Gs. $299 gets you the 32gb model
with video capture/edit, onboard compass and a load of other neat
features like "find my iPhone" should you be a MobileMe customer who's
prone to losing things. If it's not your time to renew, delayed
gratification is a sweet sweet thing. Plus it builds character!
Besides iPhone is rumored to extend its subsidization to Verizon.

Oooh the plot thickens!

"just be yourself... unless you suck."
Sent from my iPhone.

Jun 16, 2009

Gorgeous sleep

I slept from 12:15am to about 8:20am last night, Sunday night (but
technically Monday night). Hell must've frozen over because that felt
gooood. Although on the train back from lunch with Tita Zeny at
Herald's Square today I actually was asleep for 2 stops.

I still need to blog about No Doubt. Prob do it on BrokenF.

"just be yourself... unless you suck."
Sent from my iPhone.

Jun 9, 2009

And in my hour of darkness...

there is still a light that shines on me.

Today marks the second year of my mother's passing. I didn't sleep,
even less than usual with my toothbrush still wet from when I brushed
my teeth prior to going to bed. I was up past 3am, I was up at 7. I
left my door purposefully ajar so that when Tay got up he'd wake me up
too. Tay, Tim and I were on our way to Rosehill a little past 8am. We
went through McD's drive thru since we were starving, although I'm not
used to eating that early. But we did have bfast with my mom. We were
there for quite some time while Kuya Uge and Dawn went to pick up
Uncle John & Tita Zeny. Kuya Ugo met up with them later at Rosehill.
Tim took a nap and we all met up for Filipino buffet in Colonia. After
their mass consumption, I ate a modest one plate and turon, we all
parted ways. Tim went to the library to study then off to the gym. The
2 of them went to drop off the old folks back at their home. Kuya Ugo
dropped me and the old man back at home. I meant to get a haircut
since I got one last year same day. However a much needed but too
brief a nap derailed my plans yet again. Seriously I have a foot of
hair to donate again, at least! I want to go short, I'm sick of
dealing with it. Plus I own a really good versatile flat iron that I
underuse. But goodness, my hair is the only thing I'm vain with.

Anyway when Kuya and Dawn got home, we put the 2000 Devils
championship video on loan from LT while I watched HGTV. Tim's not
home yet.

I felt like crying earlier but I held it back. Probably not a good
idea but I'm going to keep it together. I just need a catalyst and I
wrote ages ago that my biggest enemy is my own discouragement. I dare
to be different and there will be no trying.

Freedom never did come cheap.

"just be yourself... unless you suck."
Sent from my iPhone.

Jun 4, 2009

Happy 29th to Me!

Well I started off early enough with the best of intentions. However when Dra called, that pretty much derailed my scheduled plans for the day. Basically I didn't have time to get a haircut since I spent close to 2 hours catching up with her. I hung up close to noon then I made a mad scramble to eat breakfast and of course, log into YoVille. If that game were real, I'd be bank lol! Anyway, then I cleaned up the kitchen some to prepare for cooking. I went back upstairs to clean up my room and check who had left me bday messages on facebook. I know, I'm so addicted to being online. I should try to find a job where I can sit in front of the internet all day. At any rate, then I thought I had taken a fairly quick shower which was closer to 1/2 an hour. My hair is really clean I guess. I picked up the clothes I wore and left on the floor from my Tuesday night out with Amy.

After that, Tay went to pick up Dawn from work and right before he left he said Kuya Ugo and family were coming over. I texted him and he said 5pm ETA but I told him not to rush. Anyway, I cleaned up the living room, Febreezed, and then tackled the dining room. I started to boil water for the pasta and then when Dawn walked in 1o min later, she took over making dinner. I went back to making the place presentable and then I went to make the salmon. I had defrosted the salmon this past Monday when Tay was gone to South Jersey for his dentist appointment.

We made good time. Unbroken spaghetti was made. Salmon was baked. Tay & Dawn ran out to get KFC and Kuya plus kids minus Erika arrived 10min after Tim got home around 5:35. She was nice enough to get salad and garlic bread but we didn't need more than one bag of ready made salad. We started to eat as soon as Kuya Uge walked through the door; who had thought we were going out to Famous Dave's for dinner. One, I'm not a big fan of that place because it makes me diarrhea and two I'm all about saving money for obvious reasons. We came, we saw, and we did not conquer all that food. The salad was half touched and the salmon remained baked in the oven. The ice cream cake did get devoured with big slices for everyone. And they gave me a birthday card that plays the Law & Order theme song which I thought was hysterical. All in all, a good birthday.

I hope to make it a good year. I got 35 shoutouts on facebook.