May 31, 2010

Memorial Day

Yesterday was the Feast of the Piggies. I think it went alright; hopefully people had fun. Then again, I'm not really all invested in the enjoyment of others for that particular gathering. Not to be malicious or anything, just not my party. I suggested to Tim maybe next year make a list of needed items grouped into a fair dollar amount. Like everyone spends $15 but everything needed gets brought by the confirmed guests. I don't know, just throwing it out there. The kid seemed to have a good time, up until it was time to go home. Convinced her fine enough to get into the car with a $2 cup of bubblegum flavored Italian ice. Kid cracks me up. She asked me why we all call her baby and stated that if Tita Dawn cleaned up her room she'd sleep there when she comes over. LoL! The feast spoils of war was ALOT of junk food. Seriously, there's alot of chips and dip. And we ate a tray of cookies already. And soda...ugh.

Memorial Day brought with it a day of work. Unfortunately, it didn't bring a staff since both the bellman and agent called out. Richard & Vic stayed behind to assist with V at the door. Very interesting morning, went by more or less smoothly mainly because the 2 of them kept doing most of the work. Lame on my part, didn't even do inventory. I did post the schedule and tally up the hours worked by everyone else. Managed to get out of there by 5pm too. At the very least, cleared the air between myself and Richard. We'll see how long that lasts.

News bits: Kuya Uge has a doctor's appointment tomorrow. Tay's appointments turned out fine, he had his last follow up last Friday. Timmy has a migraine and is still wearing my cheap knockoff sunglasses. Dawn has moved upstairs to the other bedroom. Ever since the giant TV was purchased, people been jonesing for basement real estate. Me? I still don't sleep well.

May 30, 2010

May 19, 2010

Lolo Play

when Tim and I were little kids and we'd all go to Lucena for some family thing or another, my great uncle used to play with us kids. now in my family, play meant make fun or tease until the little kid cried. for really absurd reasons, that brought joy and amusement to the elders. I guess we're just a bunch of live and let live jokers but don't cross us or we'll cut you kind of family. tito Enad or Lolo Play as we used to call him, used to do this one thing. he used to grab our wrist and tell us he wouldn't let us go until we said this word. but it wasn't really a word, it was a nonsense word he had made up that no 4 year old would be able to say! anyway, we always ended up crying for Ma and the rest of them would laugh. that was the gauntlet, so to speak, of all the children on my mother's side of the family. making a little kid cry was funny, to them. mostly filipinos aren't very thick skinned but with that kind of childhood, you learn to tolerate alot of things!

Tito Enad passed away today, 7am NY time. Tita Zeny was midflight, just coming back from the PI from seeing him actually. Ang daming pasalubong as usual. He had said a few weeks ago that he was wondering why Millet wouldn't come forward, like she was being shy. He was in the hospital, in a disease haze. Kuya Uge said no wonder he hadn't dreamt about Mama, she was in the PI visiting Tito Enad. Us Catholics, you know how it is. Towards the end, you always see your favorites.

RIP LoLo Play <3

May 5, 2010

fom

well I bloody did it. half cocked and said yes. story of my life.

due to lack of personnel, the schedule remains the same with me on during evenings and weekends. i don't actually mind those hours but the gm doesn't buy that. i'll get the same schedule as he did and i think i have to wear suits now. better get my suits out from their plastic covers. wonder if any of them still fit.... i loved that shark grey suit, that one fit me real well. funnily enough, was the cheapest suit i owned. anyway, i'll keep reporting the full repercussions of this half hearted decision. i still stand by my theory that i got set up for this position. what's done is done.

so should i consider this a growing pain? it is like a progression of career(?); first clerk, then supervisor, then afom, and now fom. chasingamy tweeted back about taking the plunge and wished me "godspeed my friend," which i thought was exceptionally funny when i first read it. maybe because i was on my bus, watching the little drama play between the 2 coworkers who don't sit together on the bus anymore. curious... anyway, my response was "yeah i've lost my damn mind. it's ok tho cuz last time that happened i got most of it back ;)." sadly true. i hope i don't have to use lando's line a few weeks' time.

speaking of which, happy international star wars day! belated anyway. may the 4th be with you! lol. there's no L on my forehead but there could be a D for dweeb if you look hard enough. i worke my r2d2 shirt too!

"you will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy. we must be cautious."

May 3, 2010

sold out

cch actually sold out on a sunday night, despite the final reports not reflecting that. but physically speaking, every room is occupied. that's a-nice.

i haven't seen my planner in a week so basically just been meandering about with no plan. i'd be alarmed except most days that's how i operate anyway... but it's nice to see things on paper! i've only marked out until the end of june. i really should finish that moleskin hack, so to speak.

sitrep:
- forgot to pay timmay rent so now i'm taping up the check to the wall so she can grab it on her way out and hopefully deposit it before she goes to work. she spent the weekend at the borgata in ac for the weezer concert. she also hit the coach store & bought me, dawn, and stephanie coach wristlets. made me feel warm and fuzzy on the inside, her thought not the actual present.

-forgot to pay a couple of bills actually. sh!t, better do that now.

-continental and united airlines are merging tomorrow (or now today). continental name will be dissolved since united apparently carries a stronger name. however management will fall to coair standards.

-remember that fom that disappeared.while i'm still on the fence about this being a brilliant idea, it's not a terrible idea and i've put myself out there as interested. it's just a job, right?