Aug 7, 2010

Droid

Switched it up, no more iPhone. I got a Samsung Captivate with the Android 2.1 OS. So far so good, but it does take some getting used to. I wasn't sold on the iPhone 4. Sure the screen was nice, retina burning indeed. I'm sure it has faster connection however whenever AT&T jumps on the 4G goodness, the iPhone 4 wouldn't be able to support it. Maybe they'll fix it with a software update, idk. But I figured instead of getting the same thing more or less, let's get out of the comfort zone & get a droid. I did want to try an android based phone when they first released 1.1 however it wasn't an option on my carrier. And the iPhone was as good a choice as any. I already had iTunes so it wasn't that big of a leap. And only recently before the iPS crashed was I actually utilizing games.

So... my Droid needs a name. I like it so far, although wish Angry Birds was on it. But I wasn't too big on games to begin with since they always drained the battery. I also liked Echofon as a Twitter client however Seesmic seems pretty decent. It's better than Twidroid imo and it's bordering is red. Also, can't beat the 4inch AMOLED screen and storage upgradeable via microSD card up to 32gb in addition to the 16gb on board memory. I currently only have 8gb on it but considering I never had more than a 4gb mp3 player it's no big. With a hummingbird processor, HD video recording is sweet paired with a 5mp camera. While there is no flash, you can always download Photoshop mobile from the Market for free for any corrections. To be fair, the camera itself already has software to control exposures before you even take the picture. And Samsung finally is using 3.5mm headphone jack instead of that foolishness they were trying to pass with their original smartphones. My BlackJack needed a headphone adaptor to use with their phones. Awkward connection and cumbersome needing to carry another wire just to listen to your music. Nevermind WinMo wasn't the friendliest of UIs. Although I didn't have any real problems. Second finally, my droid supports Swype. By far one of the coolest ways to input text but I haven't gotten the hang of it. Programmed by the same guy who wrote T9 predictive text for the alphanumeric keypads.

All in all, awesomesauce. Now what to name it?