So this past Friday, Joaquin scored free tickets to the Mets game for that evening vs the Marlins. They were upper deck, section 535. Let me tell you, I'm not a Mets fan but that stadium is beautiful. Sure I had that little inkling that I'm sure would be more magnified had I been in MSG watching the Rangers NOT playing against the Devils but it's a really nice stadium. We didn't explore it very much but the Jackie Robinson Rotunda was something to look at and the Dunkin' Donuts coffee wafting through the air were definite pluses. Joaquin got the tickets from a coworker who's wife didn't want to go anymore since there was a chance of rain.
During the game, which we were incredibly late for, it seemed apparent that everyone around us were all either from the same neighborhood or were all part of a very large family/friends network. It seemed like everyone knew each other and kids were running around all over the place. And as I watched this 14 year old boy look after his polite [they would say excuse me to each other while passing through the aisle] younger brothers while his parents sat on either end of their children, I realized that this is where cops, firemen, and other city workers come from. It had that close neighborhood feel and not that I'd ever be a Mets fan but the the atmosphere there had a more familial feel to it than Yankee Stadium. Of course I haven't been to the new Yankee Stadium or the house that greed built. We shall see for ourselves at some point which is better.
AND after the game, Joaquin took me the first ever Jollibee's in the East Coast. I think so anyway lol. That burger was freaking good and of course, a buko pandan bubble tea is always welcome. Naturally it was full of Filipinos and hopefully with proven success, that location would be able to expand and offer more items on the menu.
On other news, Cavaliers got eliminated by the Magic so that kind of sucked for Cleveland, whose Indians lost against the Yankees as well that Saturday night. And I was crazy uncomfortable and sick and dehydrated due to the visiting aunt Flo. That bitch. We had planned to go to Central Park Zoo but Joaquin went to a baseball scrimmage with some coworkers MAD early [he was at the park 7am so hell no I was not up for that] and got back shortly after I woke up around 11am. Then he zonked out for 4 or so hours while I patiently waited and read my online obsession with fanfics and napped myself because hey I don't sleep well without him anyway. Then we got all showered and ordered Chinese to settle in and watch the Cavs game. And sadly, since we're both old fuddy duddies we were out around 1am anyway despite all the sleep earlier that day.
Sunday, didn't go to Rosehill. The 2 year anniversary is in one week. But before that will be my last 20 birthday. GOD, I'm 29. I'm going to kill myself if I waste another year. I'll take the 27th year sucked understatement of my life, first year without my mother. The 28th year I spent trying to not picture everyone I knew in a coffin or my oppressive need to just fucking give up but we'll not talk about that right now. So I'm hoping my 29th year is better.
I'm going to watch SVU again. Sweet sweet Mariska.... lol.
No comments:
Post a Comment