Aug 31, 2009

Laundry

Laundry you say? Yes, laundry at 3am. I love my big baby but I wasn't doing anything all day except watch him work on my laptop so that I could be a productive human being again. I really wish either one of us would've remembered that his laundry needed to be done. Furthermore, this would be a lot easier if I didn't have a glaring knotty headache behind my right eye. Seriously, this ish is impervious to pain medication. Or copious amounts of water.

Last night, I stayed awake because MadRatter was out drinking in the RU Bruns. The drunken texts started to come in around 1am, 1/2 hr later she was looking for a ride home. 2:30am, we were on our way down to pick up her drunk ass. Now a few things annoy me there, part my failure to not have a valid license basically leaves me to be navigator most of the time. Aside from the not being able to get places BS, it's a huge F'in annoyance. I really wanted to sleep. I don't get enough as it is and I hate staying up for no good reason. I really didn't want to see my old boozing grounds, the glory days so to speak when responsibility extended only as far as FAFSA deadlines. Seeing all those "kids" out and about drinking and being disorderly just brought back all those times I was just as if not more wasted than the whole lot of them. I've only had one night where there was a chunk of time missing because I was that drunk. Nothing happened, autopilot/self-preservation sent me back to my house to sleep it off. No joke, my housemate big Daddy SP had to open the door because I couldn't even shove the key into the lock. I promptly threw up on the porch and carried buckets of water from the bathroom to wash it off too. I miss those days, good times and I'm glad I took advantage of it while I was there. Physically speaking, I am quite certain I can't ever drink until 2am, barf my guts out, then roll out of bed at 7:30am to shower and be at work by 8:15am. I don't even know how I pulled it off or how many times I'd done it. Ridiculous, but that's what being 21 meant. I never once tried to get served before I was 21. I figured I was going to do many stupid things while intoxicated and there was no reason to rush into them, publicly anyway. HAHAHA.

I'd look for a job right now however, my brain isn't cooperating. I HOPE my aunt can actually help me and it's not all lip service. I need a job then it's career.

Cannot wait to hook up with Bibs on Tuesday, I miss that sister from another mister. We have many things to catch up on!

Aug 19, 2009

25 random things

1. I am the middle child, 2 older brothers, 2 younger sisters.
2. I am sort of afraid of the dark. I sleep with the light on in my closet because I think something will come out of there.
3. Funnily enough, I'm a night person. I frequently see 3 or 4am.
4. I don't believe in welcome mats because you might inadvertently invite a vampire in. Or an escaped psychopath.
5. When I was younger, I used to draw an octopus on the margins of my books. His name was Pogita. Karla & Carlos used to draw them too.
6. I didn't like learning to read. My school had older kids [3rd or 5th graders] sit with us to help us sound out words & I felt she should just read to me.
7. I've eaten balut. Also, dirt, flowers, and ants.
8. My teddy bear's name is Chi Chi. He has a chocolate sauce stain on his butt; it had been my young quest to make him more realistic.
9. At age 9, I asked my mother why we weren't circus performers. I thought it was a pre-requisite to being Batman's sidekick.
10. I have an obnoxious amount of handbags. This encourages my thoughts on downsizing my material possessions.
11. I used to be fluent Italian, even took an Italian Cinema class. I dropped that course of study because I was already a double major. Sadly the old saying of if you don't use it, you lose it totally applies here. I can't even read my old notes.
12. What I went to school for has nothing to do with what I've been doing for the past several years. Also, what I went to school for was an interest embedded since I was 9. It was something shiny that caught my eye.
13. I am clumsy as hell.
14. I work well under pressure and crisis situations. Unless it directly affects me then I'm more of the frozen, oh crap variety. I'm not sure how I can improve that without putting myself in bad situations.
15. I quit smoking, so far so good.
16. I dislike liars. Your word is your honor and what good is life without honor?
17. My favorite color is red.
18. We used to have little pet lizards and I detested feeding them crickets. Mainly because the care book said we should cut off the back jumping legs of the crickets so that they won't attack the sleeping lizards.
19. I would like to run my own business someday.
20. I occasionally get bummed that teleportation is highly improbably because of the Heisenberg principle.
21. I like attending sporting events with family, mainly because it's better than watching it on the couch. Plus food eaten at arenas & stadiums are calorie free. haha
22. The last thing I split with my mother was a strawberry glazed Dunkin' Donut. We stop for DD on our way to the cemetery most of the time. I generally don't eat the strawberry glazed donut.
23. My family is populated by comedians. They're even funnier in tagalog.
24. I can be seriously un-motivated if I don't monitor myself. That was a nice way of saying "lazy."
25. I told my sister this should be a list of 25 people I'd like to see naked.

--
"Just be yourself...unless you suck." - Joss is boss

Aug 18, 2009

Fwd: Steph's brain

Yup, uploading/blogging an email sent by Tim with our 6 yr old niece's view of how her brain works. This is a kid who correctly uses larger words like "replica" but claims that she doesn't really know half the words she's talking about. 

She's like a little insane drunk person.

Begin forwarded message:


Date: August 17, 2009 16:36:42 EDT

She was showing me her finger skit "videos" and I asked her "where do you come up with this stuff?"  Originally she said there were 4 parts and then she changed it to 5:
 
1. good comedy shows for the finger videos
2. all the things I can see
3. games for when my brain gets bored
4. all my love for you guys
5. partytime! if you click on it everyone in my brain is having a good time
 
After that I said, "wow you have a good brain!"
She said, using both pointer fingers to indicate her temples, "it's TECHNOLOGY"

--
*
*
*


http://www.savetibet.org/
http://www.savedarfur.org/
http://www.hungersite.com/
http://www.studentsforafreetibet.org/
http://www.children.org

"i want adventure in the great wide somewhere"

Aug 3, 2009

56th post

I used to volunteer at Rutgers, a peer counseling organization called 56 Place and it was located on the 3rd floor of Bishop House with the round window looking out into the quad. I used to spend as much time as possible there, waiting for people to call and ask for help or just call and to not be lonely even for 5 minutes on a campus with thousands of people. Because that's the worse feeling, being alone in a crowd. 56 Place has been replaced by Scarlet Listeners, which is fine. They still have the same policies. I volunteered there for 3 years, whatever free time I had left that wasn't promised to classes or the 2 jobs that I had for 2 of those years. And I still managed to graduate in 4 years with 2 majors. I miss those better days. Simpler, more structured. If I wasn't such a candy ass, I'd have signed myself up for the military.

DMB said the future is no place to place your better days. Sometimes I can't help but wonder if the better days are in the past and I'm just hunkering down in the trenches for a fight for the rest of my life. Most of the time I'm fighting myself.

Well I msg'd ChasingAmy if she knew any good resume writers who can help me tailor for every specific thing I'm going to be applying to. I drank a ginormous amount of coffee in my 70's retro cup. And my father is downstairs pondering what we should make for dinner. I had wanted to write about what ifs but when I saw this would be my 56th post I got distracted. I have 6 tabs open, 4 are job related. I have to stop fighting myself. I'm not sure when I became so slow to get things done or not at all. I always got things done, even if it was the 11th hour it got done and most of the time, I did well.

I should've been volunteering this whole time. I wouldn't have been in my head so much. Then again, most of my motivation in life had been fueled by my desire to forget something so...

Aug 2, 2009

50 questions about me

Trini had this up on facebook and apparently she'd be interested in my answers but she didn't tag me so I blogged it instead. :o) Here goes the copy, paste, and insert my own answers.

If you've been tagged or you are reading this, you have the honor of copying all these goofy questions, writing your own response, and tagging 25 other victims. You have to tag me so really you just need 24 more people. If I tagged you, it's because I want to know more about you - but not in a creepy stalker kind of way - more like the dedicated researcher kind of way.


1. What time did you get up this morning?
First 7:55am. Then realized it was raining and thunderous so after another hour, I crawled back under the covers and woke up 11:33am.

2. How do you like your steak?
medium well.

3. What was the last film you saw at the cinema?
The Hangover

4. What is your favorite TV show?
On air, SVU. No longer, BSG.

5. If you could live anywhere in the world where would it be?
Depends on the time of year.

6. What did you have for breakfast?
a cup of chocolate soy milk.

7. Your favorite cuisine?
I can only pick one?

8. What foods do you dislike?
anything that overwhelms my taste buds and makes everything else taste like it afterwards.

9. Favorite Place to Eat?
the kitchen.

10. Favorite dressing?
blue cheese

11.What kind of vehicle do you drive?
I don't.

12. What are your favorite clothes?
Teva sandals, cotton shorts and a T-shirt with something funny printed on it.

13. Where would you visit if you had the chance?
anywhere in Italy

14. Cup 1/2 empty or 1/2 full?
what kinda liquid we talkin here?

15. Where would you want to retire?
On a beach.

16. Favorite time of day?
early evening or early morning

17. Where were you born?
Philippines.

18. What is your favorite sport to watch?
we're the Devils, the DEVILS!!

19. Who do you think will not tag you back?
not relevant for this blog...

20. Person you expect to tag you back first?
see previous answer

21. Who are you most curious about their responses to this?
Socorro :-P --- I left her original answer in haha

22. Bird watcher?
umm no?

23. Are you a morning person or a night person?
either.

24. Do you have any pets?
there's Shimmy but since she's an unfriendly bitch, I was thinking of fish or a couple of frogs.

25. Any new and exciting news you'd like to share?
still unemployed, not new or particularly exciting but I'll share.

26. What did you want to be when you were little?
part of the A-Team, MacGuyver's kid, Batman's sidekick, Superman's cousin, live on Sesame Street, and be the head of Voltron.

27. What is your best childhood memory?
our dog knew how to fetch when we got him, even though he was only a puppy.

28. Are you a cat or dog person?
either's fine with me

29. Are you married?
not yet

30. Always wear your seat belt?
yup, sure do

31. Been in a car accident?
nope, knock on wood.

32. Any pet peeves?
we don't have enough time or space and you don't have enough interest.

33. Favorite Pizza Toppings?
mushrooms and pineapples. not necessarily together though

34. Favorite Flower?
flowers remind me of funerals. unless it's the gumamela (hisbiscus) then it reminds me of bubbles so that's all good

35. Favorite ice cream?
anything with peanut butter, caramel or marshmallows

36. Favorite fast food restaurant?
BK, I like the fries.

37. How many times did you fail your driver's test?
none

38. From whom did you get your last email?
Greenpeace

39. Which store would you choose to max out your credit card?
Best Buy, because they have all those shiny new electronics XD

40. Do anything spontaneous lately?
I stubbed my toe at NY&Co and the frakker bled and my I broke out into a sweat.

41. Like your job?
First I hope to find a job soon. Second, I hope even more that I'll like the people there more as the last position I held did nothing for my belief that people at least *attempt* to do the right thing. Considering the industry, I should've known better that climbers are just that and scratching the surface gets you more surface. *shrug*

42. Broccoli?
Sure why not, you don't even need to put cheese on it.

43. What was your favorite vacation?
San Francisco

44. Last person you went out to dinner with?
la familia to Applebee's.

45. What are you listening to right now?
Yankees vs. White Sox at Chicago, Sabathia taking a seat after 100 pitches. score 7-4 Yanks.

46. What is your favorite color?
RRRRREDDDDD

47: Favorite Band?
many many bands but I just saw Green Day in concert so let's crank that ish up.

48: Favorite Beer?
No beer for me thanks.

49: Favorite Comfort Food?
Ice Cream.

50: Favorite way to relax?
I'd say sleep but I usually dream f'd up ish like the night before I dreamt Andy the bellman was a murderer who casually confessed to me over a slice of pizza & I was trying to get his gf out of the studio she was hiding out in. We were in Brooklyn & that neighborhood looked more boarded up than it does in real life.
Oh yeah, relax... um facebook games? Yoville, mostly. I am bank on that game.



Itchy as hell on my right leg, got bit by mosquitos last night while I was out on the balcony looking at the moon.