Jul 30, 2009

Green Day

Taken from a facebook note. I did one with the Beatles already but I thought I'd do one in honor of the GD concert we went to Tuesday night. Link goes to the posted album.

My Life According to Green Day

RULES: Using only song names from ONE ARTIST, cleverly answer these questions. Pass it on to a bunch of people including me. You can't use the band I used. Try not to repeat a song title. It's a lot harder than you think! Re-post as "My Life According to (BAND NAME)"

Pick Your Artist:
Green Day

1. Are you a male or female?
She

2. Describe yourself:
Basket Case

3. How do you feel:
Minority

4. Describe where you currently live:
Jesus of Suburbia

5. If you could go anywhere, where would you go:
Boulevard of Broken Dreams

6. Your favorite form of transportation:
Hitchin' A Ride

7. Your best friends:
Armatage Shanks

8. Your favorite color is:
Green Day :oP

9. What's the weather like:
Brain Stew

10. Favorite time of day:
Geek Stink Breath

11. If your life was a TV show, what would it be called:
Bab's Uvula Who?

12. What is life to you:
Walking Contradiction

13. Your current relationship:
Longview

14. Looking for:
Westbound Sign

15. Wouldn’t mind:
When I Come Around

16. Your fear:
Jaded

17. What is the best advice you have to give:
No Pride

18. If you could change your name, you would change it to:
American Idiot

19. Thought for the Day:
Before the Lobotomy

20. How I would like to die:
Welcome to Paradise

21. My motto:
Good Riddance


When we got home past 1am, before I went to bed I found a note from my Stephanie written in her sloppy 6 year old writing "I love you." I guess she missed us. She's made of awesome. :o)

Jul 27, 2009

Distracted

Giant said I seemed distant lately but truthfully I've just been distracted. I have a few things weighing heavily on my mind. At the top of the list is the countdown to the end of my unemployment checks. Yes, I have sadly used most of the allowable weeks in a given year. Suffice it to say, the dwindling bank account has got me nervous. Don't get me wrong, all I ever do is plan for rainy days and a sudden apocalypse (on a macroscopic level) but still, a steady paycheck affords a certain kind of relief and at least an hour of extra sleep every night.

I was going through the stack of bills here and I've managed to write one check finishing off yet another debt. That's 2 down. I started to pay online my DL which has been reinstated again due to deferment expiration but Junior here wouldn't connect so now I must check tomorrow if the scheduled payment did go through before I received the error page. I must remember later to use the family computer downstairs. I just realized how foolish I was to pay something online on a laptop with a frakkin Trojan. Idiota! And sometime this week I need to go to the bank and get a certified check. Polish off some other debt I owe Rutgers. It's funny for a law firm who will "continue to actively persue" the debt payment, this sure was the first letter I received. Btw, you spell it p-u-r-s-u-e. Whoever did that makes law clerks or interns seem careless. Considering I held such a position, unpaid, for a year that irks me some.

Somewhere along the line I know I took a wrong step and managed to land myself in a life I never hoped for. I have become complacent and lazy and content with being unremarkable. That irks me a whole lot. I'm neither aiming to be some superstar or much sought after something or other nor anything grand like that. But not to sound arrogant [seriously as I'm way down the list of most arrogant people], I am better than this. By this I mean the defeated, omg what am I gonna do now attitude.

I had a late start today but I did manage to do a few things. I made my bed, first and foremost. It's showroom quality, just needs another pillow ;-). Put a load of laundry in, finished with those. Will do towels tomorrow since my sister needs to do laundry, she needs it for work tomorrow. I also cleaned the bathroom downstairs, scrubbed toilet, floor et al, made dinner too. And I worked out a bit, got grossly sweaty. TMI sorry. Looking fwd to watching the Yankees play with the sibs. Tomorrow will be a Green Day :o)

note: post meant for 072709.

Jul 20, 2009

Sheets a mess

Last night I dreamt about living in a fantastic modern but cozy house. It was all linear and minimalistic without feeling sterile with warm colors like chocolate brown and neutrals. However next door was a rather old, like South American ruins old, monument of sorts but in actually was a burial ground. It was my impression it was an open columbarium, vines growing all over and around statues, ledges, columns, all in a stone grey with a sort of gritty feel to it. There was some man there, garbed in robes perhaps, and he was informing me of some plans to renovate the area. I was not happy with it, spouting respect and tradition and leaving things as they were and I stomped off back to my little house. It was my mother's monument I was more concerned about really, and everyone knows I hate change unless absolutely necessary. I like order and schedules and tradition and loyalty.
Sometimes I think I'd have been better off at a time when carrying a sword would've been completely acceptable because at least people shook hands back then to show trust. The world is plagued by posers, fakes, selfish backstabbers and borders don't necessarily need to be protected because the cancer is already growing within.

And now that I've cheered myself up, have a glorious Monday evening! Isn't today the 40th anniversary of the Apollo moon landing?

Hair Rant

I cut my hair this past Friday. I just had enough of the tangles and how hot it was and just the amount of shampoo I freaking use. I wash my hair every day. It air dries. I tie it up. End of story. But I must've just lost my mind and I told the lady just make it short and snazzy. Or was it sassy? Fuck it if I remember. All I know is my hair is the shortest it's been in 10 years and now I'm fretting over how to maintain it. Because not only that I say short, but layer the damn thing too. I've got that piece-y layered thing going which requires actually spending time on my hair to make it presentable to the world. AmyG said blowouts are key to making it look fabulous but you know me and patience with hair. It's practically non existent. But I got my expensive pink dildo looking flatiron that I paid good money for. And a hairdryer that I've had since I was 19 [yes, that's how often I have used it. not.]. Hopefully those two and a dash of patience and creativity will help me upkeep this hair. Worth the money I paid for it, which wasn't much as I am painfully low on funds. And trust me, compared to what other women spend on hair care at salons I spent a drop in the big bucket. Most likely my desire to not look like a complete loser of a woman will spur the fastidious upkeep. Vanity sucks.

Random fact. My mother had cut my hair for most of my life, she was a hairdresser once upon a time. This past haircut marks the 4th time I've been to a salon. It marks the 3rd time I've paid for it. The first time was for prom and my mother paid for it. Ultimately though it was apparent that I would not tolerate sitting in a chair getting "done up" for some dance so I asked the nice man to make it a cute bob. I didn't cut my hair again for 4 years after that. The last 3 times it's been the same lady at the salon at the mall. Her name is Ana and I recognized her by her smell. It sounds gross, I know, but that's how I recognized her. Be it the perfume or deoderant or what not. I looked carefully at her face this time. The first time I was just glad to cut the hair and get the weight off. The second time was my mother's first year anniversary. This last time was done with the mantra a change will do you good.

I think the next job I get, I'll have people call me by my supposed "first" name.

Still looking for a new and better point and shoot camera. Also have my eye on a fossil weekender bag. F me if I knew as clearly I'm not going anywhere til all this flying benefits stuff realigns itself at CoAir.

I tried to follow some chick on Twitter but apparently I was already blocked by her. I'm not sure why as I don't know her either. Maybe I wasn't a big enough fan of SVU for her tastes.

Lastly...Lately I've been idly, lazily, gloriously been fleetingly plagued with ideas of how different life would be if I were famous. Or talented. Or disgustingly rich. I'm not sure why.

Jul 18, 2009

Random facts - music

Hearing ABC by the Jackson 5 always cheers me up.

Yellow Submarine by the Beatles was my favorite Beatles song when I was a kid, because I thought a whole town was in the song.

I listen to JPop music, especially from animes. In particular, Inuyasha music done by Do As Infinity. I can mimic it in Japanese but have no idea what they're saying.

I haven't changed any music tastes much in the past 10 years, mainly because most of the new music out is crap. IMHO anyway. I will listen to new music by old favorites though.

There are 4 languages of music in my iPod. In frequency order: English, Japanese, Spanish, and one song in Italian (con te partiro).

When it's rainy or gloomy out, I play mostly Green Day, Foo Fighters, etc genre.

In concert with ticket stubs & not RUfests: Cherry Poppin' Daddies, Spice Girls, Eric Clapton, The Eagles, Madonna, and No Doubt (twice). Up next Green Day.

That is all, for now.

Jul 16, 2009

ABCs

A - Age: 29
B - Bed size: full size, red/white sheets
C - Chore you hate: dusting
D - Dog's name: no puppy, Shimmy only
E - Essential start your day item: iPhone
F - Favorite color: red
G - Gold or Silver or platinum: silver
H - Height: 5'1" barely
I - Instruments you play: so sad I'm not talented
J - Job title: unemployed, have been student assistant, student safety staff/supervisor, peer counselor, family worker, front desk agent, assistant front office manager.
K - Kids: none yet but they're all named
L - Living arrangements: family
M - Mom's name: Millet
N - Nicknames: PS, Soc, Soco are the acceptable ones. I'll take Perp too
O - Overnight hospital stay other than your birth: never have & I foresee the only times will be the birth of my children
P - Pet Peeve: when I try to quote something & people correct me with the added you can't remember anything. I bet you'll remember when I punch you in the face. Yes, I have anger management issues.
Q - Quote from a movie: "You look like a girl!" "I am a girl halfwit!" "Yes, but today you look it!" - Ever After
T - Time you wake up: around 8am, on my own even if I've only been asleep for 2 hrs
U- Underwear: Victoria's Secret
V - Vegetable you dislike: brussel sprouts
W - Ways you run late: waking up late or my own defeatist attitude
X - X-rays you've had: full upper body including neck
Y - Yummy food you make: because of Giada I make good Italian, because of Rachel Ray I can throw stuff together & have it come out decent.
Z - Zoo favorite: tigers or monkeys

Jul 13, 2009

Feast of the Piggies 2009

I'm not inspired to blog tonight but I will muddle through just for timeline preservation. Pffft, I say that like I haven't skipped months blogging!

FotP'09 was yesterday. Lots of people came, some familiar faces even though I still don't know their names. It's Tim's friends mostly since it is her little get together idea. She knows alot of people and about their lives, it's kind of funny how she doesn't notice things at home. Anyway, Tay came really early to stake our claim on the public grill. Next time we really should reserve a spot so we can drink booze although being drunk in the sun didn't seem like a good idea. Groups of people came and stuck with each other mostly. I was most happy to see Ondraya came with child lol. We had a nice chat, dispersed with 2 year old outbursts from the playground. And I got a little surprise as well seeing Seema, even briefly. She apparently lives around the park area and she saw my picture wall post on facebook and walked on over. LoL, love it. Anyhoot, Jiselle is soooo cute. OMG, I love her deep baby voice and her wide open smile. She got the big old Patrick balloon that Dawn got to mark the Open Groove of the park where we were all hanging. It was a nice chill day with food, some friends, and my family. It was nice and breezy too. There were games that people played like tug o'war, some volleyball, threw a football around, and I think they had some wiffle ball game going on. And someone bought water balloons. My niece and her cousins came too so that was nice. Tay and Kuya Uge also invited some work friends, I'm glad my father had people to talk too.

A gathering is never without drama of course. Filipinos will always have food and it's just lame that you'd put a person in a tough spot because you can't open your own damn mouth and ask where the food is. Or better yet, open up the wrapped up foil, lift up the plates turned upside down because 100% chance there is food there. Idiot. Also, kind of peeved that Bibs didn't even answer a single text regarding the picnic. I can understand missing a text but missing 4 of them is just idk.

I can't wait to see Jiselle again! Oh and Ondraya too. She alright. lol

I dreamt all sorts of sick shit last night. First I dropped a baby or was it a puppy into the water, by accident! We were on one of those boats like from the movie Maverick with Mel Gibson, the poker and I was crossing to the next level and it just fell out of my hands. The part was I was leaning on the rails at the docks or something and the baby crawled over to the front bow of the boat. The boat started to pull away and the baby was going to fall into the water. My oldest brother ran up along the pier to catch the boat to snatch the baby back up which he did. Of course what had spiked the fear in me was pointless as the "baby" was a lifelike wind up doll. Geez, I'm going to bed.

I'm not sure why but I suddenly want the doll Daddy gave me when I turned 12. I broke the arm by accident and she had a blue gingham dress on, that much I remember. I thought the doll was too childish for me but he was already experiencing the early onset of Alzheimer's... there is never enough fucking time. Maybe eternity will offer the opportunity and a refuge.

Jul 11, 2009

Rethinking

Tuesday night we all went to see The Hangover, which was ridiculously funny. Just thought I'd mention it. Re-tard, hysterical.

Sooo...Giant said he'd come over but yet here I am wide awake with no hope of restful sleep. I found this earlier from a fanfic by scullyseviltwin. It was the opening quote for "Lonely People are Always Up in the Middle of the Night." And he hated himself and he hated her, too, for the ruin they'd made of each other. - Dennis Lehane, The Given Day. I hope he's fast asleep because he did go out drinking the night before, and had a bit too much I may add. At least he had a good time playing football.

Twitter may be real time social news but on some level, it's just another version of AIM except everyone else can read your convo. Really, and I can't say tweets with a straight face. I was trying to sort through the 100+ tweets that had scrolled up by while I was preparing dinner. o_O for real.

Speaking of dinner, I'm going to congratulate myself for not punching any walls or unsuspecting persons while the anger burned through my head. I gave money to the 2 turds to get the rest of the ingredients I needed to finish dinner. I specifically said I needed them for dinner & wrote out a list [even though I did forget to put cherry tomatoes on the list]. I knew they were going to Party City, presumably to pick up supplies for the weekend. And I also knew they were picking up turd 1's cam from Best Buy from repair. Yeah, they came back TWO hours later. TWO!!!! TWO. I texted them & had Kuya text them to which they rudely replied go ahead and eat. WTF, apparently I wasn't fucking clear enough when I said I was making dinner. As I need the motherfucking shit on the list that I gave you. I made everyone else wait because I'm such a fucking anal retentive asshole that I have to "present" dinner because the family that eats together and all that bullshit! I ended up having to just douse the pasta with the jar Ragu which we fortunately had and the meat wasn't dried out because I did put it back in the oven so it wouldn't get cold. No salad with pine nuts, garbanzos, shredded sharp cheddar. No pasta with tomatoes, basil, and fresh mozzarella. Nevermind that they actually didn't get the fresh mozzerella & opted for some block mozzeralla which if I wanted that kind I would've put it on the damn list, now wouldn't I?

Well the turds got home and I was already cleaning up the dishes with vigor & splendor! Huzzah, here we go cleaning doing something physical because I seriously have stopped punching walls because my knuckles were not happy about that shit. And turd 2's all like here's the salad to which suprisingly I answered in an even tone of please put it in the fridge; we already [fucking] ate. And so she starts getting her plate & I had half a mind to not point out the sauce she could pour on her warm, not hot!, pasta was in the JAR on the counter. Yep, she was gonna eat that shit plain. God help me I hope the meat was dry when they got it. Fuck, ok so maybe I should have a swear jar but at least I didn't fucking punch anything. I'm counting this as a victory. Damn, I feel better. Still can't sleep but at least I feel better.

Oh yeah, the turds got a new camera too. The Sony W290 which is a nice camera but I don't remember why I didn't want that particular model. Anyway, back to yelling at the Yankees currently down FOUR against the Angels at LA. Sure is a joy watching Jeter slide though... ^_^ oh! ohio gozai masda! or whatever. lol

Jul 10, 2009

need to write = fail!

Epic fail on my part. Instead of picking up the small weights I have
to work on arm definition, I decided on Nutella & to troll the
Internet for a decent link to a full ep of l&o UK version. Basically
sit my ass down & be lazy. Well 10 min in, I get an alert from Avira
saying Junior's been compromised by Trojans. I shut down obviously &
now am methodically moving down the line with the various seek &
destroy program at my disposal. So now, regretting the Nutella, no l&o
and Trojan for Jr. WTF. Jillian Michaels said if you're going for a
snack ask yourself why & you'll be able to put down that unhealthy
snack. She's obviously never had nutella. Joaquin asked if I was
watching porn when Jr for the Trojans which was true. I didn't account
for my motivation for watching the UK version and that was to oogle
Jamie Bamber in a cop roll. Lesson learned world wide web, nerd porn
is still porn. Damn.

Choked myself awake this morning, no joke. Heard myself making some
grating sound from my throat and nose, woke up from the noise.
Fantastic way to begin a day! Then I had a story bouncing around in my
head all day, lines and such. But now Jr is out of commission so that
settles that.

I'm gonna hit my weights. I can at least tire myself out. I did do
laundry so hurrah for small victories. I'm currently losing the war tho.

Fight 'em til you can't.

"just be yourself... unless you suck."
Sent from my iPhone.

Jul 9, 2009

Neighbors

This apt complex has a high turnover rate. The so called cult who
lived in the corner townhouse moved out over the holiday weekend
according to Tay. He said early Monday morning they were hauling all
thief stuff out. With them gone there are parking spaces free in the
lot again. We called them a cult because they had 4-5 cars parked in
the lot and they had alot of visitors. Those who visited took up "our"
spots which resulted in us having to park on the side lot. Their
visitors always left after midnight so it was a constant peeve to see
an empty spot in front of the house in the morning.

Twitter is going to slowly destroy me. Just about two months left in
unemployment. Cancermount sent me a vacation/personal days check that
I supposedly never cashed. Still haven't called bank regarding some
monies that showed up suddenly. And lastly, should I take another
crack at writing stories?

Feast of the Piggies coming up this weekend.

"just be yourself... unless you suck."
Sent from my iPhone.