I cut my hair this past Friday. I just had enough of the tangles and how hot it was and just the amount of shampoo I freaking use. I wash my hair every day. It air dries. I tie it up. End of story. But I must've just lost my mind and I told the lady just make it short and snazzy. Or was it sassy? Fuck it if I remember. All I know is my hair is the shortest it's been in 10 years and now I'm fretting over how to maintain it. Because not only that I say short, but layer the damn thing too. I've got that piece-y layered thing going which requires actually spending time on my hair to make it presentable to the world. AmyG said blowouts are key to making it look fabulous but you know me and patience with hair. It's practically non existent. But I got my expensive pink dildo looking flatiron that I paid good money for. And a hairdryer that I've had since I was 19 [yes, that's how often I have used it. not.]. Hopefully those two and a dash of patience and creativity will help me upkeep this hair. Worth the money I paid for it, which wasn't much as I am painfully low on funds. And trust me, compared to what other women spend on hair care at salons I spent a drop in the big bucket. Most likely my desire to not look like a complete loser of a woman will spur the fastidious upkeep. Vanity sucks.
Random fact. My mother had cut my hair for most of my life, she was a hairdresser once upon a time. This past haircut marks the 4th time I've been to a salon. It marks the 3rd time I've paid for it. The first time was for prom and my mother paid for it. Ultimately though it was apparent that I would not tolerate sitting in a chair getting "done up" for some dance so I asked the nice man to make it a cute bob. I didn't cut my hair again for 4 years after that. The last 3 times it's been the same lady at the salon at the mall. Her name is Ana and I recognized her by her smell. It sounds gross, I know, but that's how I recognized her. Be it the perfume or deoderant or what not. I looked carefully at her face this time. The first time I was just glad to cut the hair and get the weight off. The second time was my mother's first year anniversary. This last time was done with the mantra a change will do you good.
I think the next job I get, I'll have people call me by my supposed "first" name.
Still looking for a new and better point and shoot camera. Also have my eye on a fossil weekender bag. F me if I knew as clearly I'm not going anywhere til all this flying benefits stuff realigns itself at CoAir.
I tried to follow some chick on Twitter but apparently I was already blocked by her. I'm not sure why as I don't know her either. Maybe I wasn't a big enough fan of SVU for her tastes.
Lastly...Lately I've been idly, lazily, gloriously been fleetingly plagued with ideas of how different life would be if I were famous. Or talented. Or disgustingly rich. I'm not sure why.
No comments:
Post a Comment